St. Peregrines 0-7     Gers 2-11

@ Blakestown Road


In a must win league game for the visitors the Gers took the challenge to St. Peregrines from the start and continued on in this vein for the majority of the 60 minutes to notch a comprehensive victory in the impressive surrounds of the Blakestown road venue.

With good conditions for football on a super surface the Gers struck first on 2 minutes when a long John Doyle pass to Daniel Hussey was quickly  kicked over the cover to find John Ahern free and he hit the back of the net with clinical ease from 14 meters. The rampaging midfielfer Olof Gill was beautifully picked out a few minutes later by Donal McEnery with the ‘keeper left standing with another quality finish. Evan O’Brien was sweeping up at centre back with ball being worked out neatly to supply the front men. The Gers defence was holding up well with George Callery and Killian McCabe breaking ball and tearing forward repeatedly. 2 super John Doyle points and a Donal McEnery score after a 1-2 with Ahern left the half-time score at 0-2 to 2-6.

Donal McEnery started the scoring in the second half when a period of keep-ball across the opposition 45 meter line was finished with a fine score which was added to by a John Ahern point and another McEnery free before Peregrines scored a point from distance on 38 minutes. With the Gers not allowing for any clear cut scoring chances to the opposition their wide tally started to mount and the game was eventually seen out by another McEnery point from play from good work by the lively James Moffatt.

Next up for the Gers is a home fixture on the 7th of September against St. Oliver Plunketts/Eoghan Ruadh with a midday start. Another must win game!!





Neil Costello

John Hynes     Eóin MacMaoilir     George Callery

Killian McCabe     Evan O’Brien     Karol Guerin

Olof Gill(1-0)     Dick Young ©

Donal McEnery(0-7,4fs)     Padraig Flynn     John Doyle(0-2)

Keith Stephens     John Ahern(1-2)     Daniel Hussey

Fir ionad:

Jim McGrath for Dick Young

James Moffatt for Daniel Hussey

Jack O’Brien for Keith Stephens

David Lavelle for Olof Gill

Aido Greene, Conor Ryan, Micheál Curtin


Réiteoir: Philip Brady